Ash dust

I don't know. My take away is I'm mystified at how your friend can use a pellet smoker and have zero ash. I'm not a scientist but how is it possible to burn wood and not have ash? I don't notice ash on my food (that's not to say there isn't any) but there's a good layer of ash in the bottom of my barrel and in the burn pot after a smoke. Not that it's necessary--and I'm not a clean freak--but I vacuum my pot and bottom of the barrel before each smoke. Similar results when burning charcoal in my Kettles; there is ash (even on the exterior).

Speaking of Kettles, when I began using them and WSM's 4 years ago I read that it's recommended to slowly lift the lid in an effort to minimize ash movement. This obviously doesn't minimize ash production, and I don't know that it applies to our forced air smokers, but it may be a good practice to slowly raise your lid, too.

Good luck getting the results that you expect.

Last edited:
I have been using BGE's for over 10 years. So I am not new to this. I am trying to figure if the large amounts of ash everywhere is normal for pellet poopers. When I said my friends was ash free, I meant there was no build up on the side, grates, drip pan like mine. There was ash piled in the bottom. I should have been clearer, my apologies. It just seems to me that there is way too much flying around while operating. Hence, it is getting on the food.
The only times the ash flies in the BGE's (I have 3) is when I am cleaning or stirring the left over lump.

Reactions: Kim
To add to this. I did a brisket today on the Bull. There was noticeable ash on the foil when I took if off the grill. The brisket was foiled for about 3 maybe 4 hours. I also noticed ash is starting to accumulate in the smoke box.
I don't want to beat a dead horse, but is this normal?