Stampede Considering the RT-590

Pickleball22

New member here. Thanks for the add.
Looking to pick your brains here.
I'm looking for a second smoker for our RV lot in Southern California. I've been using a kamado Style charcoal grill for the last 6 years here at our house. Overall I'm very happy with it but I've found that the smoke fades away on Long Cooks like pork butt. It's a pain to add more smoking wood to the coals. My questions:

1). Do these pellet grills actually provide a GOOD smoke for the entire length of a 14-hour butt cook?

2). Do the different types of pellets actually create a different smoke flavor? Apple? Mesquite? Can you tell the difference?

Thanks,
SP

I use a Kamado as well as the 590. You lose the smoke towards the end of the smoke with a Kamado because the smoking wood gets burned then you go into clean smoke as the fire builds. The 590 actaully has less of a smoke profile than the Kamado from my experience.

However, you really don't add to the smoke flavor after about the first 2 hours. If you continue to add smoke it won't penetrate any deeper in the meat, it's actually bad for the meat flavor.

No expert, but as stated above most smoke is done the first few hours. I tend to use the full smoke setting for an hour or two before setting to 225 for butt.

You mention RV lot? If portability is a must, the 590 is a little to big to pack up and carry-at least for me.