Flagship Inbound! What should I know?

Zippydog

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-1070
I’ve been looking at RecTeq stuff for years and finally pulled the Black Friday trigger on a Flagship. My 20+ year Weber propane grill has served me well, but the base is rusted out and I’m tired of faking smoke with tubes and a chip box. So it’s game on.

I’m new to pellet land and have much to learn. If not RecTeq pellets, what are y’all using? I’d rather buy locally and have plenty of great options. How do you store pellets? Can they be left in the grill? ‘Bout to get cold here in Chicago, but I bought a cover and I’m a year-round griller.

thanks in advance for all tips and pointers!

Welcome to the fun!

My favorite all around flavor and little dust… You can find locally depending upon where you are.

CookinPellets 40PM Perfect Mix, 1 Pack, Brown https://a.co/d/dNcdC46

I’m in GA and leave them in mine but it’s covered and under a porch.

Storage - just keep them in a dry location, have mine in a job box in my utility room in the garage.

I use whatever pellets I can find, other then Pitt Boss, no idea if those are any good, I’ve just not trusted them. I find little difference between brands or flavors, if that’s the right term, though other folks do.

i store in the bag# till i need to open one then pour it into a 5 gallon pail with screw on lid.

FWIW, if I really want smoke flavor, I add a smoke tube, so don’t throw your old one out. Pellets give a light smoke compared to charcoal or cord wood.