Impressions Of 1250 over first 10 months

y22man

Grill(s) owned
  1. RT-1250
Greetings All,

I have mixed reviews of the RT1250. I love the cook with the 1250, which is the most important aspect of the grill. I have had 2 Treager grill, Pro22(loved), upgraded to more grill space to the Select(hated). I have been smoking since 2011. Finally got fed up with Treager select and its issues. After Looking for a far I landed on the RT1250. Here are some things I would like to mention so far.

What I like:

Wifi on the grill. Super convenient and always work so far. Adjustment from the app is wonderful
Grill space on the lower grill.
Great flavor. The smoke and flavor is I think better or the same than the Treagers, could be cuz I am justifying the purchase.

What I do not like:

Hopper size. Like the larger hopper but make so it holds 45 or 50 lbs. I hate still having a small amount of pellets at the bottom of the bag.
1250 cover. It is horrible. It is to big in some places and to snug where it should not be. It is a pain in the butt to pull off and put on.
The smoke hat is too big. Everytime I open the lid, it rubs the smoke hat, taking off the finish. Trying to bend it away fills like I will bend the smoke elbow or worse.
The top rack. I wish there was a little more space between the top rack and the top of the grill. Personal preference.
Temp graph in the app is not accurate. It stays flat. I have a grill grate probe. It fluctuates temp. Not as much as the Treagers, but still 15* on either side of the setting.

What I hate: