Pork Pork Belly Ideas.

Infantryman

Military Veteran
I'm looking for some advice and ideas from you helpful and knowledgeable folks on what to do with this Pork Belly I was lucky enough to find at Costco today.

20200526_112652.jpg

I understand that it's used for bacon and it's uncured and unsmoked. I've never smoked, fried, grilled or baked Pork Belly. Just a part of the swine I have no experience with.

Unfortunately it's not the whole belly, but sliced into approx. 1 1/2" - 2" thick slices. I figure I can make something tasty from it though!

I'm looking for smoking/grilling temps, what temp you figure it's considered done at and maybe how you folks prepare it with rubs/sauces, etc.

Any help and tips offered from new Bbq'ers and seasoned pitmasters alike would be awesome and I consider any and all tips given. Thanks!

I'm looking for some advice and ideas from you helpful and knowledgeable folks on what to do with this Pork Belly I was lucky enough to find at Costco today.

View attachment 4263

I understand that it's used for bacon and it's uncured and unsmoked. I've never smoked, fried, grilled or baked Pork Belly. Just a part of the swine I have no experience with.

Unfortunately it's not the whole belly, but sliced into approx. 1 1/2" - 2" thick slices. I figure I can make something tasty from it though!

I'm looking for smoking/grilling temps, what temp you figure it's considered done at and maybe how you folks prepare it with rubs/sauces, etc.

Any help and tips offered from new Bbq'ers and seasoned pitmasters alike would be awesome and I consider any and all tips given. Thanks!
I know this is not exactly what you have now but I have made this a dozen times, on my stick burner pit. It’s amazing. Recipe looks worse than it is. Go greenies ! ??
GATHER YOUR INGREDIENTS

1 (3-pound) skin-on center-cut fresh pork belly, about 1 1/2 inches thick

Kosher salt

2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar

Vegetable oil
VIEW INGREDIENTS
View Nutritional Informationi