Bull Smoke daddy anyone? What's your experience?

JohnDS

Grill(s) owned
  1. Bull
Hey someone mentioned a smoke daddy in one of my other posts. I started researching and it looks interesting. One thing I've noticed about pellet smoke vs stick burner smoke aside from mildness, is you can never replicate that same true smoke flavor from pellets as you would from real wood chips or chunks in it's natural form. This may be the answer so I'm wondering what anyone thinks that have used this. Also, I see they have the Big Kahuna and the Magnum P.I.G. Is the Magnum too big for the 700rt?

John,
I'm new to pellet smoking. But I've been learning quickly over the 6 weeks I've had my Bull. Ribs, brisket, tri-tip, fish, cheese, chicken, etc. I'm bbq'ing faster than I'm eating. LOL.

I've been happy with the smoke intensity by doing a stepped temperature smoke. I start at 180/LO and impart a good amount of smoke and progressively increase temperature.

That said, my interest in a Smoke Daddy a few years back was for low temperature use. If you don't have the smoke box, a Smoke Daddy may be a nice way to do some cheese. The guys on the Bubba/Big Steel Keg forum used them extensively for low temp smoking. But I'm just not seeing the need for the meats, and I don't even use a smoke tube.

John,
I'm new to pellet smoking. But I've been learning quickly over the 6 weeks I've had my Bull. Ribs, brisket, tri-tip, fish, cheese, chicken, etc. I'm bbq'ing faster than I'm eating. LOL.

I've been happy with the smoke intensity by doing a stepped temperature smoke. I start at 180/LO and impart a good amount of smoke and progressively increase temperature.

That said, my interest in a Smoke Daddy a few years back was for low temperature use. If you don't have the smoke box, a Smoke Daddy may be a nice way to do some cheese. The guys on the Bubba/Big Steel Keg forum used them extensively for low temp smoking. But I'm just not seeing the need for the meats, and I don't even use a smoke tube.