Turkey advice

Do a 21lb fresh bird Spatchcock or Whole?

• Total voters

Colby giles

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Hello All,
This is my first year being in charge of the turkey and conveniently this will be my first turkey on my Stampede. My plan was to do a practice one last week but of course I was called into work and that fell through.
I going to be doing a 21lb fresh turkey, I will be doing a brine the day before and then just a light dry rub. I am open to all suggestions but my main question is this. Can you all share you cooking temps and time per pound at that temp? I haven’t fully decided what temp I will cool at but I want to be able to have it be done on time of course! Also how much rest time? I am still torn about doing it Spatchcock style or not . As you can tell I really don’t have a set plan yet so I am looking forward to all the suggestions! Thank you all as always for taking the to help out.

I did my first turkey on the RecTec last week and it was amazing! It was a 15 lb turkey. I let it get almost thawed in the fridge then took it out of the wrapper and put it on a rack in a pan and let it stay in the fridge another day. The fridge will help take some moisture out of the skin so that it crisps up better. Then I dried it better, salted the cavity and threw some aromatics in. I applied the Greek rub liberally and then put it in to smoke at 225 for about 2 hours. For that I put it in with the bottom side up. This lets the darker meat get a little head start on the white meat and some of the juices run down. Then I took it out of the grill and turned the heat up to 350.

When I put the turkey back on the grill, breast side up I also put the thermometer in the thigh and plugged it in. It was already higher than I expected it to be. It finished up in a couple of hours.

Edited to add that this was one of the easiest, tastiest turkeys that I have ever cooked.

Attachments

• IMG_20191120_205657499.jpg
    IMG_20191120_205657499.jpg