Stampede 1st brisket ever on the stampede, and it was a raging success!

aamike68

Grill(s) owned
  1. Stampede
Hey folks! Bought a 12lb brisket USDA prime from costco the other day and decided to smoke one for memorial day. My in-laws were having a get together so the pressure was on! Not gonna lie I was really stressed out during this cook, I didnt sleep much and felt like I was staring at my phone app nonstop haha. This being my first brisket I felt like a total newb while trimming this thing. I looked up and researched so much but actually doing it yourself was difficult because I didnt want to cut too deep. (now after the fact and seeing the cook and cutting into it I know exactly what I need to improve on for my next brisket!)Used MEat Church the gospel, and holy gospel, applied quite a bit to both sides. Put the stampede fat side up on 180degrees xtreme smoke for a total of 10 hours, stalled for 3 hours at 145) then wrapped in butcher paper at 157F and bumped temp to 225 for 3 hours, then 250 for 2 hours, and 275 for 1 hour. probed at 200F and was like butter. I had to speed it up at the end because it was pushing dinner time. Pulled right off of the grill and into the cooler still wrapped for 2 hours. Was still steaming and hot to handle and perfect to serve up. I was so nervous because there was a crowd watching me as I cut into it, but once I cut into the point and those juices were spilling out I heard an audible gasp from a few folks haha!

Nothing but overwhelming compliments from all my family and friends, There was barely any left over and I was getting all kinds of questions about how I cooked it and what smoker I used, felt really good!